Despite my pledge to “buy nothing new” for the month of October, I am really looking forward to the upcoming ‘Green Savvy Sunday’ on Sunday 9 October at our local Old Bus Depot Markets.

As the focus of the day is all about promoting things green and sustainable I am sure I won’t have any problems finding some recycled, reused or pre-loved goods. I already have the record bowls (above) on my shopping list for the music fans in the family!

The day will also include information sessions from experts in the field including:

  • Dr Richard Denniss, Executive Director of the Australia Institute, on why we need
    a carbon tax, why it won’t destroy the economy.
  • Justin Ryan, Director of Armada Solar discussing the future of solar in Canberra after the Feed In Law, and presenting a new environmental product that makes houses more energy neutral (sounds intriguing!)
  • David Hocking from One-Eco will present on sustainability in the garden, and
  • Nick Mayo sharing information about Canberra’s Sustainable House

Green Savvy Sunday is on from 10am to 4pm on the 9th October; entry is free.

Sounds like a great day out for the school holidays!

